A Witchy morning tea with Mystical Dragon

Melbourne-based New Age store Mystical Dragon runs an annual Biggest Morning Tea fundraiser for the Cancer Council of Australia. This year, my friends at House of Hexenn ran a stall at the event, so I made the journey from the northern suburbs to Seaford to support them. It was a cold May morning but the day was beautiful, with sunshine and a clear blue sky. After spending the day among like-minded people and enjoying what was on offer, I will no doubt become part of the furniture at future Mystical Dragon’s Biggest Morning Tea events.

The Mystical Dragon Biggest Morning Tea is a family-friendly event, so if you don’t like kids, consider yourself warned. If you’ve got children and have been looking for a kid-friendly witchy outing, I highly recommend next year’s event. Keep an eye out on their Facebook page here and their website here. They regularly run other social events including the Beltane Ball, and they run workshops, seminars and courses for many disciplines in the realm of the magickal.

The stalls that were part of the event this year may or may not run a stall again next year, but this year’s stalls will give you a basic idea of what to expect.

House of Hexenn

House of Hexenn are the go-to store for hand-crafted Books of Shadows, athames and other ritual tools, magickal herbs and resins, incenses and other tools of the magickal trade. I bought their Florida Water spray, which is great for clearing out old energy from your ritual space and a good auric cleanser.

20170520_221657[1]

You can check out House of Hexenn’s Facebook page here.

Reflexology

Reflexology is an alternative therapy involving application of pressure to the feet with specific thumb, finger, and hand techniques. I gave it a go, and was walking around the venue afterwards in absolute bliss.

20170520_224714[1]

The reflexologist is Amanda Barnett Wood and she is a professional member of the Reflexology Association of Australia. I totally recommend.

Essence of Life Spirit Art

Laura Floyd has been doing her art for many years, and regularly has her stall at Mystical Dragon’s Biggest Morning Tea. I watched her draw several works of spirit art before I began to feel compelled to get one done for myself, but resisted – then I finally relented and sat down with Laura and got an artwork done. Here is the result:

20170520_223703[1]

It was worth every cent. You can check out her Facebook page here.

Abby Moon

Abby Moon sell some beautiful jewellery, as well as fragrant oils and essential oil blends. This particular item of jewellery caught my eye:

20170520_124444[1]

A rule of thumb with magickal/ritual jewellery: the jewellery chooses you, not the other way around. If you are drawn to a particular item, something “jumps” at you or otherwise catches your eye, that’s the one for you. Sometimes you won’t immediately know its purpose, but that will reveal itself in time.

Abby Moon’s website: www.abbymoon.com.au

There were also aura photography/chakra scan services, healers, oracle card readers and tarot card readers. I cannot comment on the healing services or card readers, as I did not get a card reading done.

In all, it was a great day with great people, but I sure wished I got into one of the free seminars that were on offer in the afternoon! Oh well, next time!

About meganmasters2015

I have been writing for as long as I can remember. Ever since I was a child, I would create characters and write about their adventures. This continued through my teenage years. I am studying Certificate IV in Professional Writing and Editing. After I complete this course, I can become an editor, copywriter and freelance for writing research reports, journals and content for different media. I also have a profile on NaNoWriMo, and I achieved my 50,000 words for 2014.
This entry was posted in Religion & Spirituality, Society and Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

